My Philosophy on Apprenticeship

Classical 5-Elements Feng Shui Luo Pan Compass

Lately I have heard from several people that they have hired Feng Shui consultants who advertise themselves as being trained by me, only to be disappointed.  Unfortunately they only checked their bona fides with me after paying and being dissatisfied with the work.  In a similar vein, frequently I receive emails from people asking me to train them, or to teach a course.  The answer is categorically no. While I do not want to be the last of the Tin Sun Lineage, when I do take an apprentice it will not be a stranger who emails me a request. I will choose an apprentice in the traditional way, and the apprenticeship will be of long duration as there is much to learn of Feng Shui Five Elements, Chinese Zodiac, philosophical and scientific texts and life.

Certainly, it has always been a possibility for me, with my high profile, to start a school and train hundreds or even thousands of people. However, this is not the way knowledge is passed down in my lineage for the very simple reason that what needs to be taught cannot be done in a simple course of even 500 or 1,000 hours. Most of the popularized feng shui available to American consumers is of a simplistic variety with rooms divided into sectors and common-sense ideas like ‘declutter’ emphasized. However, the true Feng Shui must incorporate the Five Elements and Destiny Profile of the individuals involved, in conjunction with the Earth Element (solar and chi) variation of each location. Balancing people’s consciousness with the Earth Energy is the only way that the true purpose of Feng Shui can be accomplished.

Many of my loyal long-term clients tried other feng shui practitioners first so they had a context within which to judge what I do, and the feedback I have from them does not surprise me. The authentic form of Feng Shui by a real master not only balances the energies of the client’s environment but also heightens the client’s awareness – a comprehensive approach to the whole life and/or business of the client. Anything less is just interior design – which is important on its own terms but it is not Feng Shui.

Thank you for reading this post. It is important to disseminate the information that I do not do trainings or have any apprentices to date. I am not responsible for people of low morality who use my name completely unauthorized. Do your homework and research before deciding on a Feng Shui Master. My next post will be a checklist for Feng Shui clients looking for a Master or practitioner.

One response to “My Philosophy on Apprenticeship

  1. As you recall, I was a graduate student of one of those Feng Shui schools. I thought I knew what I was doing & had many clients. Through a long process, I finally connected with you & have become a forever client/friend with you. I thought by putting a mirror behind the stove when my back was to the entryway would double my wealth. What you showed me was that mirror is made of metal & fire (burners) melts metal so symbolically my money was melting away. You gave specific days & times to take the mirror off. I no longer practice FS & leave it to Pun Yin to do.

    I am forever grateful to you for helping mom & I.

Leave a Reply

